You Deserve A Great Team – to help you navigate and succeed with your mental health

Just like with any chronic medical condition, you deserve great team to help you navigate and succeed with your mental health treatment. There are psychologists, psychiatrists, counselors, and doctors that are fantastic at their jobs. Unfortunately, just like with any career, there are ones who are not that great at their jobs. They may rush through your appointments, slap diagnosis quickly on you, speak to you in a condescending manner, and lack the compassion, care, and excellence that are crucial to success at their position. Many of us have left these appointments feeling like we were not treated as human beings, but as another chart to rush through carelessly. You deserve better. You are not a, for example a, “depressed person.” You are a worthy, wonderful person struggling with depression. PERSON FIRST.

Advocate for yourself. If someone is treating you unkindly say, “Can I please speak with your supervisor?” Unfortunately I’ve had to do this several times. I take a few deep breaths and calmly explain that I wasn’t treated with the kindness and respect I deserve. I also explain that fortunately I am stable and happy, but someone else on the other end of the phone requesting care may not be. They may be at the end of their rope. I’m advocating for them as well.

I saw some really insensitive, lame psychiatrists who left me feeling more confused and lost than when I entered. I’m so sorry if you’ve had this experience as well, but keep searching for that great team you deserve. I found it years ago, and it changed everything! I finally found a team I trusted and whose intuition and intellect blew me away. Read reviews, ask for references, and keep trying to find that team if you have not. You deserve to a GREAT TEAM.

*I’m not a doctor or medical person at all. My opinions are just opinions

17 thoughts on “You Deserve A Great Team – to help you navigate and succeed with your mental health

  1. True. And you also need people at home who can look after you, who can assist you in the recovery. Not having anyone and being all by myself during the last 4+ years has been really tough. It just stretches your time to recovery.

    Like

    1. Good point! Isolation makes things worse! Community, friendships, and structure are so important. Even though it can feel really tough, getting out and getting involved in things can help.. Hope you are feeling better now! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have had to advocate for myself many times because healthcare professionals can become desensitized in their field and forget what their true job is and that is caring for the individual. They forget we have feelings and they get so use to fixing problems that they forget there is a person connected to it. You have to remind them. I enjoyed your post.

    Like

  3. I felt being in their environment, they were able to clinical reason within a team but not without the pressure of competition. I think – pay is always important. Paying them to be professional is as important as giving them the time off to reflect on practice. I agree with “ladycamecu” – desensitised and it causes them to actually not show vital things like compassion, caring and competence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good points! Maybe they get burnt out – and ya- desensitized – maybe they need more training in medical school about compassion and care- seeing someone as a whole person- not just a case- or maybe we need to “shop” around until we find someone who is a good match for us and that we feel truly cares. It’s complicated! It took me so many bad experiences to find the right person who changed everything for me- I feel so sad that there are people stuck with inadequate care. Thanks for posting opinion! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I try not to depend much on psychiatrists for pretty much the same reasons you explained beside some others, Instead I look for mentors. These are the people who truly make a difference in one’s life. They help us bridge the gap and reach out for our dreams without being blocked out from the day to day barriers we face in our lives.

    Great article, Rachel!

    Like

  5. I read down the left side of the screen on this page. You’re a great writer. At first, I felt that I was in for a novel that was going to do real justice- not a prozac nation. But one that demonstrates the years of struggle and the strength needed to survive and to make it possible to thrive in the midst of deep stigma. Then, your page broke change to the feel of a documentary. An artist”s plea for consideration for the sufferer. Then a plea to to love oneself in the midst of getting anything but true support. To love yourself as your neighbor. To realize that those telling us that we are inferior or a piece of crap is not true. I liked the analogy of people signing a cast and somebody with an invisible brain injury is passed and even shunned. It takes real strength to go on. Joy/Peace Luka

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words, Luka. I really appreciate this lovely comment. I’m glad you got what I was hoping to convey. I still have a lot to learn about writing (and should edit more! Lol my writing is too long hehehe) but I do love writing about things I am passionate about – and I know from person experience how painful self shaming and shame from others is! I’m not taking it anymore! Yay! Love and peace to you! Rachel

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Narcissists gravitate towards this field of work. If a therapist seems to be using tringulation tactics in family therapy then change therapists. I have had this experience. The therapist would say things about what the other person said to them in private that were exaggerated or made up or just should not have been repeated without that person’s permission.
    This same therapist was accusatory to me and tried to get emotional reactions with aggressive statements and confusing questions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

